How do I move a student into a different group? You can move students within groups. However, changes should be made before assigning a group to an assignment. If a student is added to or removed from a group after receiving submissions, the submissions and grades may not align correctly. If a student is added to a group after the group submission, any re-submissions will overwrite the original submission; all previous grades will remain but the Gradebook will show the assignment was resubmitted since last graded. If you want to move a group member with a graded submission, you may want to  clone the group set  instead. Note:  In group assignments, all students should be assigned to groups before the assignment is published. Grades and submissions may be affected for students who were not in a group at the time of assignment submission but who were later added to a group. Open People In Course Navigation, click the  People  link. Open Group Set Click the name of the group set. Move Student via Drag and Drop Expand the group where you want to move the student [1]. Click the student's name and drag it to another group [2]. Move Student via Move To Option You can also click the student name  Options  menu [1] and select the  Move To...  link [2]. Move Student In the Move Student sidebar, click the  Place  drop-down menu [1]. Select the group where you want to move the student [2]. Click the  Move  button. View Groups Verify the student has been moved to a different group.   [Content retrieved from https://community.canvaslms.com/t5/Instructor-Guide/How-do-I-move-a-student-into-a-different-group/ta-p/723 ]