How do I close a discussion for comments in a group as a student?
As a student in a group, you can close a discussion for comments if it meets the following conditions:
- You are the creator of the discussion.
- There are no replies to the discussion.
After a discussion is closed, no replies are allowed.
Note: Once a discussion is closed for comments, only instructors can re-open it.
Open Discussions

View Discussions

The group Discussions Index page is very similar to the course Discussions Index page. It displays a link to the discussion [1] and indicates whether the user is subscribed [2]. A green discussion icon indicates a subscription to the discussion.
Close for Comments

Click the Options icon [1] and select the Close for comments link [2].
View Discussion

The discussion is listed on the Discussions Index page in the Closed for Comments section.
Content retrieved from https://community.canvaslms.com/t5/Student-Guide/How-do-I-close-a-discussion-for-comments-in-a-group-as-a-student/ta-p/376