How do I leave a group as a student? If you were able to  join a group  in your course, you can leave the group at any time. You cannot leave groups that are not self sign-up groups or student groups that are by invitation only. When a course is concluded, all associated groups will be shown as previous groups in your  groups list . Embed this Video Open People In Course Navigation, click the  People  link. Open Groups Click the  Groups  tab [1]. Or, to access groups through the Options menu, click the  Options  icon [2] and then click the  View User Groups  link [3]. Leave Group Next to the name of an available group, click the  Leave  button. Verify Group Removal A message appears at the top of your browser verifying you left the group.  Content retrieved from https://community.canvaslms.com/t5/Student-Guide/How-do-I-leave-a-group-as-a-student/ta-p/415