# Tips and Troubleshooting

## BROWSER

For each browser(s) used, follow the steps below to resolve common issues. It is recommended that the computer be restarted following any changes.

<a>SETTING THE BROWSER TO CLEAR CACHE WHEN CLOSING</a>

<div id="bkmrk-chrome%3A-open-the-chr"><table width="800"><tbody><tr><td>**Chrome:**</td></tr><tr><td>1. Open the Chrome browser.
2. Open the Chrome Toolbar (3 lines to the right of the URL window) and then select **Settings.**
3. Select **Show advanced settings....**
4. Click the **Content Settings button** located under the Privacy section.
5. Under the first section labeled Cookies, select **Keep local data only until you quit your browser.**
6. Click **Done.**

</td></tr></tbody></table>

<table width="800"><tbody><tr><td>**Firefox:**</td></tr><tr><td>1. At the top of the Firefox window, click the Firefox button and then select **Options**.
2. Select the Privacy panel**.**
3. In the *History* section, set **Firefox will**: to **Use custom settings for history**.
4. Select the checkbox for **Clear history when Firefox closes**.
5. Click the **Settings**...button. The Settings for Clearing History window will open.
6. In the Settings for Clearing History window, click the checkmark box next to **Cache**.
7. Click **OK**.

</td></tr></tbody></table>

<table width="800"><tbody><tr><td>**Internet Explorer:**</td></tr><tr><td>1. Open the IE browser.
2. Click **Tools &gt; Internet Options &gt; Advanced** tab.
3. Scroll down to the Security section and then check the box: **Empty Temporary Internet Files folder when browser is closed**.
4. Click **OK**.

</td></tr></tbody></table>

</div><a>ALLOWING POP-UPS IN BROWSERS</a>

<div id="bkmrk-chrome%3A-to-the-far-r"><table width="800"><tbody><tr><td>**Chrome:**</td></tr><tr><td>1. To the far right of the address bar click the ellipsis.
2. At the bottom of the **Settings** page click **Advanced**.
3. Under the Privacy and Security section click **Content Settings** &gt; **Pop-ups and redirects.**
4. Enable or disable the slider to block or allow all pop-ups. Additionally specific sites can be blocked or allowed.

</td></tr></tbody></table>

<table width="800"><tbody><tr><td>**Firefox:**</td></tr><tr><td>1. To the far right of the address bar click the Open Menu icon.
2. Click **Options**.
3. Click **Privacy and Security** from the menu and under Permissions, either check or uncheck the box labeled "Block pop-up windows."

</td></tr></tbody></table>

<table width="800"><tbody><tr><td>**Safari:**</td></tr><tr><td>1. Click **Safari** on the menu followed by **Preferences**.
2. Click the **Security** tab.
3. Either check or uncheck the "Block pop-up windows" field.
4. To allow website exceptions use a supporting browser such as Chrome or Firefox.
5. Alternatively, **Shift** + **Command** + **K**.

</td></tr></tbody></table>

<table width="800"><tbody><tr><td>**Internet Explorer:**</td></tr><tr><td>1. To the far right of the address bar click the gear icon.
2. Click **Internet Options**.
3. Select the **Privacy** tab and either check or uncheck the "Turn on Pop-up Blocker" field. Click **Apply**.

</td></tr></tbody></table>

<table width="800"><tbody><tr><td>**Edge:**</td></tr><tr><td>1. To the far right of the address bar click the ellipsis.
2. Click **Settings**.
3. Under the Advanced Settings section click the "**View Advanced Settings**" button.
4. Use the **Block pop-ups** slider to make changes.

</td></tr></tbody></table>

</div><a>OPENING A PRIVATE BROWSING WINDOW</a>

<div id="bkmrk-chrome%3A-to-the-far-r-0"><div><table width="800"><tbody><tr><td>**Chrome:**</td></tr><tr><td>1. To the far right of the address bar click the ellipsis.
2. Click **New Incognito Window** (**Ctrl** + **Shift** + **N**).
3. To end private browsing close the open window and click the ellipsis &gt; **New Window** (**Ctrl** + **N**).

</td></tr></tbody></table>

<table width="800"><tbody><tr><td>**Firefox:**</td></tr><tr><td>1. Click the Open Menu icon to the far right of the address bar.
2. Click **New Private Window** (**Ctrl** + **Shift** + **P**).
3. To end private browsing close the open window and click the Open Menu icon &gt; **New Window** (**Ctrl** + **N**).

</td></tr></tbody></table>

<table width="800"><tbody><tr><td>**Safari:**</td></tr><tr><td>1. Click the **File** Menu, then click **New Private Window** (**Command** + **Shift** + **N**).
2. To end private browsing close the open window and click **File** &gt; **New Window** (**Command** + **N**).

</td></tr></tbody></table>

<table width="800"><tbody><tr><td>**Internet Explorer:**</td></tr><tr><td>1. To the far right of the address bar click the gear icon.
2. Click **Safety** &gt; **InPrivate Browsing** (**Ctrl** + **Shift** + **P**).
3. To end private browsing simply close the open window (**Ctrl** + **N**).

</td></tr></tbody></table>

<table width="800"><tbody><tr><td>**Edge:**</td></tr><tr><td>1. To the far right of the address bar click the ellipsis.
2. Click **New InPrivate Window** (**Ctrl** + **Shift** + **P**).
3. To end private browsing close the open window and click the ellipsis &gt; **New Window** (**Ctrl** + **N**).

</td></tr></tbody></table>

</div></div><a>RESETTING BROWSERS</a>

In the event that common web browser troubleshooting is not helpful, a browser reset may be required. Please keep in mind that resetting the browser will revert all startup tabs, homepages, content settings, and all other customized preferences back to their installation defaults. It is recommended that the computer be restarted following any changes.

<div id="bkmrk-chrome%3A-to-the-far-r-1"><div><table width="800"><tbody><tr><td>**Chrome:**</td></tr><tr><td>1. To the far right of the address bar click the ellipsis.
2. Click **Settings**
3. At the bottom of the **Settings** page click **Advanced**.
4. Under the Reset and clean up section click "**Restore settings to their original defaults**."

</td></tr></tbody></table>

<table width="800"><tbody><tr><td>**Firefox:**</td></tr><tr><td>1. To the far right of the address bar click the Open Menu icon.
2. Click **Help** &gt; **Troubleshooting Information**.
3. In the top right of the newly opened window click the **Refresh Firefox** button and confirm the reset.

</td></tr></tbody></table>

<table width="800"><tbody><tr><td>**Safari:**</td></tr><tr><td>1. Click **Safari** on the menu followed by **Preferences**.
2. Click the **Privacy** tab.
3. Click "**Remove All Website Data**" and select **Remove Now**.

</td></tr></tbody></table>

<table width="800"><tbody><tr><td>**Internet Explorer:**</td></tr><tr><td>1. To the far right of the address bar click the gear icon.
2. Click **Internet Options**.
3. Select the Advanced tab and click **Reset** under Reset Internet Explorer settings.
4. Ensure that the **Delete personal settings** box is checked and click **Reset**.

</td></tr></tbody></table>

<table width="800"><tbody><tr><td>**Edge:**</td></tr><tr><td>1. To the far right of the address bar click the ellipsis.
2. Click **Settings**.
3. Under the Clear browsing data section click the "**Choose what to clear**" button.
4. Ensure that all boxes are checked and click **Clear**.

</td></tr></tbody></table>

</div></div><table id="bkmrk-chrome%3A-to-the-far-r-2" width="800"><tbody><tr><td>**Chrome:**</td></tr><tr><td>1. To the far right of the address bar click the ellipsis.
2. Click **Settings.**
3. At the bottom of the **Settings** page click **Advanced.**
4. Under the Privacy and Security section click **Clear browsing data.**
5. Ensure that all desired check boxes are marked for deletion and click **Clear data.**
6. Alternatively, **Shift** + **Ctrl** + **Delete** &gt; **Clear data.**

</td></tr></tbody></table>

<table id="bkmrk-firefox%3A-to-the-far-" width="800"><tbody><tr><td>**Firefox:**</td></tr><tr><td>1. To the far right of the address bar click the Open Menu icon.
2. Click **Options.**
3. Click **Privacy &amp; Security** from the menu and click **Clear data** and **Clear history** under their respective sections. Ensure that desired boxes are checked before clearing.

</td></tr></tbody></table>

<table id="bkmrk-safari%3A-click%C2%A0safari" width="800"><tbody><tr><td>**Safari:**</td></tr><tr><td>1. Click **Safari** on the menu followed by **Preferences.**
2. Click the **Privacy** tab.
3. Click **Manage Website Data** &gt; **Remove all.**
4. Alternatively, **Command** + **Option** + **E.**

</td></tr></tbody></table>

<table id="bkmrk-internet-explorer%3A-t" width="800"><tbody><tr><td>**Internet Explorer:**</td></tr><tr><td>1. To the far right of the address bar click the gear icon.
2. Click **Internet Options**.
3. Select the **General** tab and click **Delete** under Browsing History. Ensure that the desired boxes are checked before deleting.
4. Click **Apply**.
5. Alternatively, **Ctrl** + **Shift** + **Delete.**

</td></tr></tbody></table>

<table id="bkmrk-edge%3A-to-the-far-rig" width="800"><tbody><tr><td>**Edge:**</td></tr><tr><td>1. To the far right of the address bar click the ellipsis.
2. Click **Settings**.
3. Click the **Choose What to Clear** button under Clear Browsing Data. Ensure that the desired boxes are checked before clearing.
4. Alternatively, **Ctrl** + **Shift** + **Delete.**

</td></tr></tbody></table>