Tips and Troubleshooting
BROWSER
For each browser(s) used, follow the steps below to resolve common issues. It is recommended that the computer be restarted following any changes.
SETTING THE BROWSER TO CLEAR CACHE WHEN CLOSING
| Chrome: |
- Open the Chrome browser.
- Open the Chrome Toolbar (3 lines to the right of the URL window) and then
select select Settings.
Select Select Show advanced settings....
- Click
the the Content Settings button located under the Privacy section.
- Under the first section labeled Cookies,
select select Keep local data only until you quit your browser.
Click Click Done.
|
| Firefox: |
- At the top of the Firefox window,
click the Firefox Firefox button and then select select Options.
- Select the Privacy panel.
- In
the the History section, set set Firefox will: to to Use custom settings for history.
- Select the checkbox
for for Clear history when Firefox closes.
- Click
the the Settings...button. The Settings for Clearing History window will open.
- In the Settings for Clearing History window, click the checkmark box next
to to Cache.
Click Click OK.
|
| Internet Explorer: |
- Open the IE browser.
Click Click Tools Tools > Internet Options > Advanced Advanced tab.
- Scroll down to the Security section and then check the box:
Empty Temporary Internet Files folder when browser is closed.
Click Click OK.
|
ALLOWING POP-UPS IN BROWSERS
| Chrome: |
- To the far right of the address bar click the ellipsis.
- At the bottom of
the the Settings page click click Advanced.
- Under the Privacy and Security section
click click Content Settings Settings > Pop-ups and redirects.
- Enable or disable the slider to block or allow all pop-ups. Additionally specific sites can be blocked or allowed.
|
| Firefox: |
- To the far right of the address bar click the Open Menu icon.
Click Click Options.
Click Click Privacy and Security from the menu and under Permissions, either check or uncheck the box labeled "Block pop-up windows."
|
| Safari: |
Click Click Safari on the menu followed by by Preferences.
- Click
the the Security tab.
- Either check or uncheck the "Block pop-up windows" field.
- To allow website exceptions use a supporting browser such as Chrome or Firefox.
- Alternatively,
Shift + Command + K.
|
| Internet Explorer: |
- To the far right of the address bar click the gear icon.
Click Click Internet Options.
- Select
the the Privacy tab and either check or uncheck the "Turn on Pop-up Blocker" field. Click Click Apply.
|
| Edge: |
- To the far right of the address bar click the ellipsis.
Click Click Settings.
- Under the Advanced Settings section click the "View Advanced Settings" button.
- Use
the the Block pop-ups slider to make changes.
|
OPENING A PRIVATE BROWSING WINDOW
| Chrome: |
- To the far right of the address bar click the ellipsis.
Click Click New Incognito Window (Ctrl + Shift + N).
- To end private browsing close the open window
and and click the ellipsis > New Window Window (Ctrl + N).
|
| Firefox: |
- Click the Open Menu icon to the far right of the address bar.
Click Click New Private Window (Ctrl + Shift + P).
- To end private browsing close the open window
and and click the Open Menu icon icon > New Window (Ctrl + N).
|
| Safari: |
- Click
the the File Menu, then click click New Private Window (Command + Shift + N).
- To end private browsing close the open window
and click and click File > New Window (Command + N).
|
| Internet Explorer: |
- To the far right of the address bar click the gear icon.
Click Click Safety > InPrivate Browsing (Ctrl + Shift + P).
- To end private browsing simply close the open window (Ctrl
+ N).
|
| Edge: |
- To the far right of the address bar click the ellipsis.
Click Click New InPrivate Window (Ctrl + Shift + P).
- To end private browsing close the open window and click the ellipsis >
New Window (Ctrl + N).
|
RESETTING BROWSERS
In the event that common web browser troubleshooting is not helpful, a browser reset may be required. Please keep in mind that resetting the browser will revert all startup tabs, homepages, content settings, and all other customized preferences back to their installation defaults. It is recommended that the computer be restarted following any changes.
| Chrome: |
- To the far right of the address bar click the ellipsis.
Click Click Settings
- At the bottom of
the the Settings page click click Advanced.
- Under the Reset and clean up section click "Restore settings to their original defaults."
|
| Firefox: |
- To the far right of the address bar click the Open Menu icon.
Click Click Help Help > Troubleshooting Information.
- In the top right of the newly opened window click
the the Refresh Firefox button and confirm the reset.
|
| Safari: |
Click Click Safari on the menu followed by by Preferences.
- Click
the the Privacy tab.
- Click "Remove All Website Data" and
select select Remove Now.
|
| Internet Explorer: |
- To the far right of the address bar click the gear icon.
Click Click Internet Options.
- Select the Advanced tab and
click click Reset Reset under Reset Internet Explorer settings.
- Ensure that
the the Delete personal settings box is checked and click click Reset.
|
| Edge: |
- To the far right of the address bar click the ellipsis.
Click Click Settings.
- Under the Clear browsing data section click the "Choose what to clear" button.
- Ensure that all boxes are checked and
click click Clear.
|
| Chrome: |
- To the far right of the address bar click the ellipsis.
Click Click Settings.
- At the bottom of
the the Settings page click click Advanced.
- Under the Privacy and Security section
click click Clear browsing data.
- Ensure that all desired check boxes are marked for deletion and
click click Clear data.
- Alternatively,
Shift + Ctrl + Delete > Clear data.
|
| Firefox: |
- To the far right of the address bar click the Open Menu icon.
Click Click Options.
Click Click Privacy & Security from the menu menu and click click Clear data and and Clear history under their respective sections. Ensure that desired boxes are checked before clearing.
|
| Safari: |
Click Click Safari on the the menu followed by by Preferences.
- Click
the the Privacy tab.
Click Click Manage Website Data > Remove all.
- Alternatively,
Command Command + Option + E.
|
| Internet Explorer: |
- To the far right of the address bar click the gear icon.
Click Click Internet Options.
- Select
the the General tab and click click Delete under Browsing History. Ensure that the desired boxes are checked before deleting.
Click Click Apply.
- Alternatively,
Ctrl + Shift + Delete.
|
| Edge: |
- To the far right of the address bar click the ellipsis.
Click Click Settings.
- Click
the the Choose What to Clear button under Clear Browsing Data. Ensure that the desired boxes are checked before clearing.
- Alternatively,
Ctrl + Shift + Delete.
|