How do I leave a group as a student?
If you were able to join a group in your course, you can leave the group at any time. You cannot leave groups that are not self sign-up groups or student groups that are by invitation only.
When a course is concluded, all associated groups will be shown as previous groups in your groups list.
Open People

Open Groups

Click the Groups tab [1].
Or, to access groups through the Options menu, click the Options icon [2] and then click the View User Groups link [3].
Leave Group

Next to the name of an available group, click the Leave button.
Verify Group Removal

A message appears at the top of your browser verifying you left the group.
Content retrieved from https://community.canvaslms.com/t5/Student-Guide/How-do-I-leave-a-group-as-a-student/ta-p/415