Advanced Search
Search Results
3864 total results found
How do I restrict student access to a course before or after the course dates?
As an instructor, you may be able to restrict student access to your course before or after the course participation dates. By default, course participation dates are limited to term dates. You can restrict students from viewing the course before or after term...
How do I enable SpeedGrader to launch filtered by student group?
In large courses with many student groups, instructors may wish to filter SpeedGrader by student groups. When the Launch SpeedGrader Filter by Student Group setting is enabled, you must select a student group when you open SpeedGrader to grade an assignment, q...
How do I enable a grading scheme for a course?
You can enable an existing grading scheme as your course default grading scheme by editing your Course Settings. If you need to change your course grading scheme at any time, you can view and manage grading schemes. Course assignments use the course default g...
How do I use grading schemes in a course?
A grading scheme is a set of criteria that measures varying levels of achievement in a course. Course-level grading schemes are grading schemes that you can create and enable for a course or assignment. Account-level grading schemes are grading schemes created...
How do I view and manage grading schemes in a course?
If you want to enable a grading scheme for a course or specific assignments in the course, you can manage grading schemes for the course. Your institution may have already created grading schemes that you can use in your course, or you can add a new grading sc...
How do I add a grading scheme in a course?
If you would like to use a grading scheme that your institution has not created on the account level, you can create a new grading scheme for your course. View examples of common grading schemes. Note: Your grading scheme will not take effect until it has bee...
How do I duplicate a grading scheme in a course?
You can copy and duplicate grading schemes in your course. Open Settings In Course Navigation, click the Settings link. Open Course Details Click the Course Details tab. Enable Grading Scheme If the checkbo...
How do I edit a grading scheme in a course?
When you create grading schemes in your course, you can edit grading schemes. Notes: You can only edit grading schemes that have not been used for grading. You cannot edit account level grading schemes in a course. Open Settings ...
How do I archive a grading scheme in a course?
You can archive and unarchive and restore grading schemes. Notes: Archived grading schemes can still be used wherever they are currently in use, but they cannot be selected for new courses or assignments. An archived grading scheme cannot be leveraged...
How do I customize visibility options for a course or course content?
Course visibility options can be customized and allow access to different user roles. The visibility setting offers three choices for a course or course content: Course: The course or course content is available to all users associated (enrolled) in t...
How do I set a Creative Commons license for a course?
By default, the content you create in your course is considered copyrighted and private. However, if you want to make your course available to others for reuse, you can set a Creative Commons license for your course that specifies how you will let others copy,...
How do I include a course in the Public Course Index?
The public course index is a collection of all courses in your institution that can be viewed publicly. In relation to the index, the word public references the index, not the courses; courses in the index may be public or private courses. Learn how to view th...
How do I set a course format?
You can set the format for a course in Course Settings. Course format shows whether the course is intended to be an on-campus course, a online course, or a blended course. Blended courses can sometimes be called hybrid courses, but the interpretation can be de...
How do I change the format of a course ePub export file?
As an instructor, you can allow users to download your course as an ePub file using an ePub reader. You can also select the format for the course ePub file. The default ePub organization is by module, meaning only items that students have access to view in ea...
How do I allow course content to be exported as an offline HTML file?
If your institution has enabled offline content, you can allow users in your course to download course content as an HTML file in the Modules page. This feature supports courses that use complex HTML or dynamic linking to downloaded files. Users can view the H...
How do I enable course self-enrollment with a join code or secret URL?
If your Canvas admin has enabled self enrollment for your institution, you can enable self enrollment in your course. Self-enrollment allows a student to sign up for a course using a secret URL or code. Self-enrollment can be enabled for a course whether or no...
How do I show recent announcements in the Course Home Page?
You can show recent announcements as part of your Course Home Page. You can set the number of announcements that should be displayed. The Course Home Page only displays text and links within announcements; any images or media will not be shown. Note: Student...
How do I hide totals in my students' grade summaries?
In Course Settings, instructors have the option to hide total grades from students. By default, students can see the totals for assignment groups when they view their course grades. However, for courses that use weighted assignment groups, the assignment group...
How do I hide grade distribution scoring details from students?
Instructors can hide the box and whisker plot (grade distribution) graphs to keep students from viewing the summary statistics of the class and figuring out each others' grades. By default, the whisker graph is on. When the grade distribution graph is hidden, ...
How do I hide sections from students on the People page?
You can hide the sections column on the People page from students in your course. When you enable this setting, students will no longer be able to view section information if they have access to the People page. However, students may be able to view section in...