Changing group settings
Group settings can be updated from several different M365 apps. Below are instructions for the Outlook desktop app.
Only group owners can change group settings.
- Open the Outlook desktop app.
- In the navigation pane, under Groups, select the group you want to change the settings for.
- On the ribbon, select Home > Group Settings > Edit Group.
The following group settings can be updates from the Edit Group dialog.
- Group name
- Private - private groups aren't open for everyone to join them and the group owners are the only ones that can add members. Only group members can access group content.
- Public - public groups can be joined by everyone with getting approval from a group owner, Anyone can access group content.
- Add/remove members
- Delete the group
- Let people outside of the organization email the group
- This setting allows people outside of A-State to send an email to the group. This option should be carefully considered as it will expose the group to possible SPAM messages.
- Subscribe new members so they receive group emails in their inbox
- If enabled, anything sent to the group appears in user inboxes, including invitations to Teams meetings.
- When you change this setting, the user preferences for all members of the group will automatically be updated.
- Promote member to owner
- Demote owner to a member
You cannot change the group email address or add aliases.